Sunday, March 7, 2010
Charming Saint Hugo in Bloomfield Hills was built in two parts. The old stone chapel dates back to the 1930's, when the property for the church was donated by the MacManus family who lived there. The carillon tower with its 48 bells was dedicated in 2005 and is part of the newer, larger sanctuary built in the late 1980's. Many weddings, however, take place in the intimate stone chapel. There's a crypt below the vestibule containing the MacManus family remains.